Home > BBC, British, Sherlock, TV shows > SHERLOCK 2×02: The Hounds of Baskerville

SHERLOCK 2×02: The Hounds of Baskerville

So, as usual, THIS POST WILL INCLUDE SPOILERS.

Before I start posting whatever spills out of my brain, I’ll mention that I have never read the original novel (or any of Doyle’s work) so while people may be upset with how the story was adapted into the 21st century, or all the changes the writers made, I can’t comment on that because this is just my experience with a fresh story I’ve only heard the title of.

 

I think I’ve mentioned (of course I have) how I find Benedict Cumberbatch’s portrayal of Sherlock to be absolutely brilliant and witty and entertaining, and I’m sure the 10 million or so viewers agree so yeah, just a note about his genius and my lurve for it. Watson is suitably fantastic and awesome as well, and I really think he humanizes the show just the slightest. Now, my thoughts:

  • cold turkey. I like how Sherlock has a harpoon and John’s so nonchalant about it
  • Cluedo!! I know, it was just a passing comment but I found it hilarious.
  • sniffing the smoke… hahha.. slightly uncomfortable and oddly perfect
  • Yay creepy yet expansive and lovely shot of the moor!
  • I like how they played up the setting, it really does feel so much different than the usual “London” (if that makes sense)
  • John pulling rank, BAMF.
  • I thought the introduction of Dr. Franklyn at that time in the episode was too much like those serial crime shows like CSI. If you asked me to guess who the bad guy was halfway through, that’d be my immediate thought (because somehow the bad guy is always introduced in CSI at the, like, 20 minute mark)
  • When they’re in the forest, I was suitably creeped out
  • I liked the scene after Sherlock thinks he sees the hound, it’s interesting to get a different side of him
  • why so rude, Sherlock.
  • UMQRA hahaha
  • those bright lights going on and off at Henry’s house that night really freaked me out, I kept expecting the hound to jump through the glass
  • “I only have one friend” d’awwww
  • LOL GREG
  • OH SHIT JOHN OH SHIT
  • I was totally freaked out in the lab scene as well, I’m reminded by how awesome Martin Freeman is as an actor
  • mind palace! I wasn’t too big of a fan of all the hand waving, but the CGI (is it CGI? my ignorant mind doesn’t know) was neat though
  • Maggie definitely was a surprising password.. definitely something I thought was kind of unlikely
  • HOUND oooooooh. Interesting.
  • I thought I’d add that as soon as they mentioned aerosol, I thought of the fog :p I felt smart haha
  • That hound beast was flippin scary, I don’t do well with mildly-scary things, as you can probably tell by now
  • Way to have the perfect shot, John
  • AN EXPERIMENT? That was kind of cruel.
  • THAT ENDING OMGOMGOMG.

 

Okay, this post was kind of lacklustre, but agh, oh well. I thought overall it wasn’t my favourite episode but it was still entertaining and engrossing as always, and even on an okay/good day, Sherlock still surpasses the good-ness of many other TV shows. The mystery with the lab didn’t take me too much by surprise, but I’ll admit I spent a large chunk of the episode believing the Hound was just a genetically modified animal that escaped, and wondering why no one jumped to that conclusion, considering the lab made animals glow. The villain wasn’t surprising either, but it might have been a bit too tidy with him coming down to the foggy area and such at the end (I mean, why did he go down there anyways? Why not keep messing with their minds?). Dialogue is another thing that makes the whole series work, it was sharp, clever and hugely awesome on the awesome scale. The style of the series is still there and still enjoyable, though I’m fearing that the uniqueness and stellar-ness of it is wearing off, I hope not!

 

Grade: A- 

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

leave a scribble

