Home > BBC, British, Sherlock, TV shows > SHERLOCK 2×01: A Scandal in Belgravia

SHERLOCK 2×01: A Scandal in Belgravia

alternative title: Brainy is the New Sexy

GUYS GUYS GUYS IT’S BACK IT’S BACK IT’S BAAAAAAACK!!!!!

(if you don’t know what I’m talking about, shame on you! Sherlock is a BBC series that adapts Sherlock Holmes to the 21st century and it is ahmaaaaaaaazing)

My most hotly anticipated show of 2012 seriously did not let me down, as the first episode of series 2 started and finished with me at the edge of my seat. As you should become more familiar with my blog, a lack of coherency should be expected.

OMGGGGG DID YOU SEE THAT DID YOU SEE THAT?? So much amazeballs, I can’t even.It’s hard to sit back and soak all the brilliance in when all I wanted to do was absorb and decode EVERYTHING that happened.

The episode was just brilliant. Fastpaced, funny, precise, smart, and with such marvelously portrayed characters and filmed with a sense of style that is very pleasing. And this is coming from someone who knows nada about filmmaking but I can still spot the difference and uniqueness of its style. The plot was convoluting but fantastic, I can’t think of a more apt description. I’m completely unfamiliar with the book series by Doyle but this episode just blew me away. The details of the characters, the text messages, the small glances, the off-handed comments, I loved every moment of it. I loved the way John and Sherlock’s relationship was developed and explored, but I also loved the portrayal of Sherlock Holmes by Benedict Cumberbatch. At the end of the episode (with one big revelation after another after another) we learn that Sherlock isn’t the invincible know-it-all and sometimes things do crumble and ‘the game’ crosses over to something much bigger. But you see all these sides to him that might be less than socially acceptable, yet you can’t help but totally sympathize with him.

But WHATEVER I just want to mention AGAIN all those little parts I liked, because hell, this is a new blog and I made no rules for myself.

  • the part when Mycroft says “shut up, Mrs. Hudson” and Sherlock and John both yell at him. Then Sherlock’s little comment right after :p
  • pretty much EVERY scene with Mrs. Hudson actually, by gosh, I love that woman
  • IRENE ADLER WHAT HAVE YOU DONE TO ME
  • IRENE ADLER WHAT HAVE YOU DONE TO SHERLOCK
  • ^^ that character is just… @_@ LOOOOVED her and her role
  • *AAAAAAH*
  • oh poor Molly, I really do feel bad for you
  • “we’re not a couple”… “yes you are” (I don’t even ship them!)
  • SHERLOCK IN A BEDSHEET
  • THAT PASSCODE
  • THE ENDING OMGOSH THAT ENDING. to say I did not expect that would be an understatement… I need to stop underestimating our Sherlock here

So there you have it. My fresh thoughts on Sherlock… oh what did you think of this episode?

  1. January 4, 2012 at 7:46 PM

    I found the episode a little too tightly edited but otherwise it is as you said brilliant.
    Points of interest that stood out for me are
    Loved the way Sherlock took it out on Mrs Hudson’s attacker.
    Telling him his injuries before he got them and how is torture fun!
    Hated the Moriarty subplot.
    Hated the Mycroft as Holmes boys.
    Hated the casual way Mrs Hudson cleans the fridge.
    This was a great continunation on updating the series!
    Irene Addler formally known as “The Woman” will have people downloading ringtone “sighs”!
    Will we see scimitars hanging in the trophy room in following episodes?

    • screensandscribbles
      January 4, 2012 at 9:32 PM

      I’m pretty unfamiliar with more technical aspects, I just casually mention ‘style’, which I enjoyed :p I’m glad you enjoyed the episode too! Moriarty subplot wasn’t my favourite either, I have nothing against his character, I just didn’t really *love* his plot as much. LOL I was just joking with my friend today about getting that ringtone. I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on episode 2 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

leave a scribble

