Home > movies > ultimate re-watchable movies

ultimate re-watchable movies

She’s the Man — Yep, the one with Amanda Bynes and Channing Tatum, and the soccer and the OMG HILARIOUSNESS. On a basic level it’s just entertaining, and it pretty much lacks depth and meaning but damn, is it rewatchable. And sooner or later, you’ll realize that in my mind, rewatchable is synonymous with quotable and holy shizz is this movie quotable. I feel like the sheer amount of lulz is enough for me to flip to the channel it’s on whenever I see it on the TV listings.  The tampons, Eunice, Olivia, tarantula, cheese, ex-girlfriend (Monique), sideburns, the coach… it just makes me happy.

Viola: and when I close my eyes, I see you for who you truly are, which is UUUG-LAY

How to Train Your Dragon — Pretty much my favourite animated movie that I watched in 2011 (though Tangled does make quite a case for itself)… it has heart. And it’s has its totally adorable and totally heartwarming moments, along with some awesome music and an attention-grabbing plot. Hiccup is quite the unique character, and so easy to sympathize with, and throw in those dragons… it makes for a great movie. I’ve seen this at least four times now.

Mean Girls — I feel I shouldn’t even need to explain this. It’s seriously a modern classic if I’ve ever seen one. How many times can you quote Mean Girls in a day? The limit does not exist!

Iron Man 2 – My go-to feel good movie full of witticisms that are hit-or-miss depending on the person (a hit for me, for sure), a snarky hero, and awesome action

Pride & Prejudice (2005) – because ohmygoshswoonIlovethismovie

[yes, this list will be updated sometime]

Categories: movies Tags: ,
  1. January 2, 2012 at 5:39 AM

    Love it! I’ve seen Mean Girls sooo many times (I watched it a couple nights ago, actually) and it NEVER gets old. So fetch.

    She’s the Man is also hilarious, but I admit I’m yet to see How to Train Your Dragon!

    • screensandscribbles
      January 3, 2012 at 12:54 PM

      I KNOW RIGHT?! NEVER gets old, and I love how it’s on TV all the time 🙂 HtTYD really is awesome, especially if you like animated movies!

  2. January 3, 2012 at 9:38 AM

    May I suggest the following:
    Tremors.
    Casablanca.
    XXX.
    How To Murder Your Wife.
    Wall-E.

    • screensandscribbles
      January 3, 2012 at 12:53 PM

      Oh my gosh, I’ve only seen XXX (the one with Vin Diesel) and that was ages ago.. I should probably get on that. And everyone only has praises to sing about Wall-E, I’m pretty sure I’m missing out.

      • January 3, 2012 at 7:28 PM

        The XXX sequel is not that good and spirals all over the place.
        She’s the Man is okay but I prefer the classic Shakespeare In Love for some of the same story. Though that maybe also be that I am decades removed from High School. I tend to like Ten Things I Hate About You for modern Shakespeare in high school setting. I have had bedtimes become very late for catching Much Ado About Nothing on which is a lot of fun to watch.
        How To Train Your Dragon just stumbled along too much for me to get into it. Tangled fell down everytime it tried to sing. Oddly enough I found myself detesting Cars 2 as a cash-in not a spy chase spoof. Similar to Kung Fu Panda 2 however I liked Kung Fu Panda original alot. The film I found cutesy in small bits but HATE as a whole is The Smurfs.
        Mean Girls is not a film I can watch over and over but definitely occasionally.
        The Odd Couple is one of those films I feel the same way about. Just try to get the theme out of your head.
        It could be a weekly run of films to run non stop as a column with the recommendations you get here.

      • screensandscribbles
        January 4, 2012 at 9:46 PM

        David- Haha I think it’s my teenage mindset showing through, if I were older, I wouldn’t understand my own obsession with Mean Girls or She’s the Man either (and absolutely no offence intended!) 10 Things I Hate About You!! I LOVE that movie, I need to rewatch is sometime, it was really fab.

        I don’t really get my own obsession with HTTYD, I just really enjoyed it the first time I watched it (I was still kind of wary about animated movies and them being all “family” and “lame” but it was the first in a while I genuinely enjoyed and got me to watch a ton of other animated movies!) I’ve been hearing the same about Cars 2, but I never watched either Cars movie so I can’t say.

  3. Linna
    January 3, 2012 at 6:12 PM

    I think I’ve seen She’s the Man about a dozen times (no joke, and once was even for English class… Shakespeare unit. LOL) and it never gets old. Never. 😛

    • screensandscribbles
      January 4, 2012 at 9:42 PM

      BAHAHA THAT IS AWESOME!! ❤ I adore that movie, it's just amazing.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

leave a scribble

